top of page

the weekly addition 4

Hannah-

What new team are you in?

I am in the, I don’t even remember, um, the elevations team? Wait, also the windows- yeah the e windows and elevations team.

How do you feel about our progress? About the design we’re moving forward with?

I think we’re doing really well! We’re working together as a team smoothly. I don’t feel like we’re behind on anything. We are pretty prepared for our next trip down to New Mexico this weekend.

Any surprises or challenges coming up?

The biggest surprise was the weight of the perman columns! They’re a lot heaviest than expect. The challenge will be hiking them up the mountain to the site, because apparently we can’t rent a donkey.

How has your perception of the project changed so far?

This is all a lot more complex than expected. I knew it would be hard, but there are so many more elements coming together that expected. I had no idea how many small details would be going into the construction. But I knew that I didn’t know.

Ben-

What team were you in last year?

I was on construction documents and lighting last year. We designed and fabricated all the lights in the sky hut to reduce the cost.

How do you feel about our progress? About the design we’re moving forward with?

I feel that everyone's progress over the semester has been great. I think that everyone has learned a lot. I like the design that we chose. I think it will be a great space and addition to Lama after the final changes are made.

Any you’re surprised with?

I was a little surprised we are not using a batch water heating system but after figuring out the logistics of the system it makes perfect sense to just go with the instant hot water heater.

How has your perception of the project changed so far?

I have gotten more excited about the project as time has gone on. It just keeps getting better.

Any tips for us?

When working in a group if you have an idea that you think is a better option then take time to think through why it’s better and be ready to argue, respectfully, about why it is a better option.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page