top of page

interview with kyra

After much deliberation, the Lama Foundation Administration and team picked Miss Kyra Traxler’s design as the final 2016 KOHhaus. We will make a variations to the original idea, but the core of Kyra’s design will still be present in the built structure. Following the announcement of the winner, Kyra was given the opportunity to answer a few of our questions concerning how it felt to be picked. First, we asked her what inspired her design.

After looking at various precedents, I decided that I wanted to do something that incorporated a trellis as the main element in the design,” was her response. “From there it was a matter of looking at what roof configurations would best accommodate the trellis. Otherwise, I have always been interested in interior design and detailing. After taking digital fabrication this semester, I realized the possibilities for architectural detailing through digital fabrication. This inspired the designs of various elements such as the doors and mirrors.” The trellis is what caught everyone’s eye during Kyra’s presentation. Kyra then reflected on how she felt to have actually won the honor of having her piece built. “I’m really happy that my design got picked. And surprised. I really liked some of the other designs in the class, so I’m happy now that we get to integrate some of those ideas into this design. I think that it will make it a better design overall. I’m excited to see what the final product will look like, and am now looking forward to the summer build even more.” Kyra anticipates the fun of picking the building materials that will create the atmosphere she first imagined when she drew up her design.

We asked her then how she envisioned the summer build going now that she knows it will be her design that will be built. “I think it will go really well. Everyone is working hard to figure out all the details so that the summer goes smoothly in terms of construction. I look forward to getting to actually build my design and get that experience. But more so, I really look forward to get to spend three weeks with everyone doing something we all love. It’s going to be a great summer!” I think we can all agree on that last point. Congratulations Kyra!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page